Skip to content

:: featured ::

01/03/2011

So I was Etsy featured seller! If you missed it catch the interview in the archives here: interview.

Story behind being featured seller: Etsy Admin contacted me back in early October saying we love your shop and want to make you featured seller. Fill out this interview, get these things in order, take photos of yourself/space/work and you will be featured on december 29th-31st. I screamed and jumped around the house with my three year old (baby napping) for at least a half hour when I heard of the news. Anyhow, I had my professional photographer (me hubby) come in and do a photo shoot.

Then the day came. OH. MY. GOSH. I was so nervous the 20 minutes before noon (they switch featured sellers at noon) I seriously felt like I was going throw up. I mean there are 290,000 sellers on ETSY, this is a big deal for little girl from Kentucky. AND with the world wide web, you know how it goes, once you are out there that is it, there is no taking it down or retreating. deal is done. So if I want to become president, you better believe they will pull out that interview and not let me live it down. te he. But still, you get the point.

Anyhow, after refreshing the home page of etsy a thousand and 5 times I popped up! I shrieked! And then it started, convos, orders, hearts, oh me oh my it was fun. People were so nice. I know a lot of the comments were with the intention to get sellers’ own shops noticed, but I pretended like it was all pure intentions b/c it was more fun that way. I received so much encouragement and feedback, it was lovely. People are beautiful. I tried to respond to most of it, and will continue to work my way through it.

My parents were in town as an overlap from our holiday together. Between my husband and parents, they made the whole experience so enjoyable and stress free.

Since friday at noon I have been making making making, responding, relisting items, eating, making, snooze, making, making, eating, packaging. Paul and I packaged the first batch of orders to go out today, I think we worked 5.5 hours on it, roughly. Here is the result (this is maybe a quarter of the orders): 

my small town post office might start to cringe at me soon. By the way have you seen how cute these two are:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/03/2011 3:52 PM

    love that you were a featured seller on Etsy, although I did miss it 😦 Your work is amazing, and when I first stumbled on your shop, I knew it wouldn’t be long before you were in the “spotlight” in some way 🙂 Congratulations, and may the Lord continue to bless you, your work, & your family!

  2. Damaris permalink
    01/04/2011 7:48 AM

    Cool, congratulations!

    I´ve been quietly following your blog since a while, but i do enjoy your work and i think you really deserve the spotlight! =)

  3. 01/23/2011 8:05 PM

    Hello! I saw your spotlight on etsy and came to your blog site! I really enjoy looking at your products–they’re really great. I love your graphics based on scripture–what a great idea! I’m just starting out with my creative-ness and hope to be on etsy by February. I’m glad people like you are willing to let others be inspired by your goodies!

  4. 03/27/2011 2:18 PM

    Hi there, I just stumbled on your blog and etsy shop, clicked on the link on the french press knit site 🙂 Very cute blog and great work, I especially love the paper collage floral burst wall art, very fun and creative.
    🙂
    Heather

Leave a comment